The hallmark of Malacca and perhaps the most photographed subject next to the Stadhuys. Built by the Portuguese in 1511 as a fortress it sustained severe structural damage during the Dutch Invasion. The British East India Company had set to destroy it but timely intervention by Sir Stamford Raffles in 1808 saved what remains of A Famosa today.
Built in 1849, by Reverend Farve, a Frenchman, who later became Professor of Malay in Paris. It stands on the site of an earlier Portuguese church built in 1553. The Gothic twin towered church is dedicated toSt. Francis Xavier is well-remembered for his missionary work spreading Catholicism to South East Asia in the 16th Century..
Built in 1650 as the official residence of Dutch Governors and their officers, the edifice is a fine example of Dutch architecture. Preserved in its original structure and form , it now houses the Historic Museum and Ethnography Museum. On display daily are fine traditional bridal costumes and relics from Malacca's glorious past.
Located in Padang Pahlawan, the obelisk with the alphabet "M" which stands for Merdeka which means Independence signifies the place where the last British Resident Commissioner of Malacca, H.G. Hammet handed over the instrument of independence to the first local Governor of Malacca, Tun Leong Yew Koh, on 31st August 1957. On this very field with more than 50,000 locals welcomed Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al Haj(the first Prime Minister) and his entourage on the 20th February 1956 on their return from England after successfully negotiating for Independance from the British. In this field the joyous shouts of "Merdeka" was heard and holding a banner "Dibawah runtuhan Kota Melaka kita dirikan negara baru" which means "Within the ruins of the Fort of Malacca we form a new nation". One and a half years later the triumphant shouts of "Merdeka" were heard again in the Federal Capital, Kuala Lumpur..
Built by a Portuguese Captain by the name of Duarte Coelho, the chapel was turned by the Dutch into a burial ground for their noble dead and renamed it 'St. Paul's Church' from the Portuguese's 'Our Lady Of The Hill'.
St. Francis Xavier was briefly enshrined in the open grave in 1553 before being shipped to Goa, India.
A war memorial dedicated to fine British officers and soldiers who died in the Naning War (1831-1832).
A war memorial dedicated to fine British officers and soldiers who died in the Naning War (1831-1832).
Standing exactly as it has always been since 1753, the church is testimony to Dutch architectural ingenuity. Commenced in 1741 to commemorate a century of Dutch rule and took 12 years to complete. Take note of the church's 200 years old handmade pews, its 8 feet long ceiling beams constructed from a single tree without joins, Brass Bible rest which dates back to 1773, tombstone written in Armenian and 'Last Super' in glazed tiles.
Built in 1912, the former club house of Malacca Club now houses invaluable exhibits of the country's struggle leading to the independence. The exhibits are in the form of relics, manuscripts, video tapes, film and slides.
Built based on the description and reference to the palace in 'Sejarah Melayu(the Malay Annals), the wooden replica houses the Cultural Museum of Malacca. Situated at the foot of St. Paul 's Hill, it is the only Malay palace from Malacca's glorious past of the sultanate era built with such detail and refinement. At the moment the musuem is close for renovation work until 20th November 2001
A definite haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Authentic artifacts and relics, some dating as far back as 300 years, can be found among a host of interesting collectibles, each with its own history, and mystery. Jalan Hang Jebat, formerly known as Jonker Street, is known worldwide among famous antique collectors as one of the best places to hunt and bargain for antiques. Every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday from 6.00 p.m. to midnight this street is turn into a pedestrian mall. You can see and buy all kinds of curios, local food, and handicfrafts..
Built in 1459 by the followers of Hang Li Poh, the Chinese princess who married the Sultan of Malacca. Situated at the foot of Bukit China it is the oldest well in Malacca. The well never dried up during days of old and was the only source of water supply during great droughts.
In 1511, after the siege of Malacca by Alauddin Shah, the Sultan of Johor, who leagued with the Sultans of Perak and Pahang and the Queen of Java, the Javanese, before leaving, poisoned the Perigi Raja so that the inhabitants having drunk of its water, fell victim to the terrible outbreak of plague. According to Diogo de Couto, the great Portuguese historian 12 to 15 Portuguese were buried every day. More than 200 of them died as well as a great number of natives.. The Dutch enclosed it with stout walls in 1677 to maintain its ultimate right to the well. It has now turn into a wishing well.
Hang Jebat the champion of justice who died a tragic death. Hang Tuah in a duel of honour that lasted 3 days and 3 nights unceremoniously killed him. He runs amuck after suffering a fatal wound from Hang Tuah's dagger, 'Keris Taming Sari'. In the name of justice to avenge the sultan's hasty the punishment against Hang Tuah for a crime he didn't commit, Hang Jebat was accused by Hang Tuah of 'durhaka' (contumacy).
One of the first Hindu temple built in the country at the turn of the century. It was built on the plot given by the Dutch.
Constructed during the Portuguese Occupancy Masjid Peringgit is believed to be the oldest mosque in Melaka. During the Portuguese period, the local Malays relocated to Kampung Peringgit where they built the mosque. When Melaka fell into the hands of the Dutch. The Malays were persuaded to move back into Melaka town where they built another mosque, the Masjid Kampung Hulu.
One of the oldest mosques in the country with Sumatran architectural features. Instead of a conventional dome, a three-tier roof rising like a pyramid is in place. A minaret peculiar in shape from a typical Moorish style is structured like a Pagoda portraying the mixture of East- West architectural influence.
This is the largest Chinese burial ground outside of China. With its size of 26 hecteres with 12,500 graves and consisting of three sections, namely Bukit Tempurong, Bukit Gedong, and Bukit China. The hills of the Chinese is so named because of the historic mixed-marriage that took place in the year 1459 between Sultan Mansur Shah of Malacca and Princess Hang Li Po, the daughter of Emperor Yung Lo of the Ming Dynasty. The princess with her 500 beautiful band maids resided here in the mid-fifteenth century. The hill was finally bought over by Kapitan China Lee Wei King, the founder of the Cheng Hoon Teng from the Dutch Goverment and later donated the hill to the Chinese of Malacca for their burial ground..
During the Portuguese occupation a Franciscan Monastery and a Chapel was built dedicated to "Madre de Deus" (Mother of God) on top of Bukit China It was founded in 1581 by Fr. Francisco Pisaro, an Italian Franciscan who came from Macau In his book "Viaggio d'ell China" written in 1592 he writes:- "I decided to live on the hill, a mile a away from town, in a place where the Bishop Dom Jorge de Sta Lusia had built a Chapel dedicated to the Mother of God". However, it was destroyed by the Achinese in 1629 when they attacked Malacca, the monastery was levelled to the ground by the fierce bombardment of the Achinese on the small Portuguese force which had sought sanctuary there following their retreat from St. John's hill. It was rebuilt when the Achinese were eventually defeated but was finally destroyed when the Dutch captured Malacca in 1641. The existence of this Monastery is clearly indicated in the ancient drawings and maps of Malacca in the Portuguese Chronicler, Boccaro and writings of Godinho de Eredia. In 1949, the Malacca Historical Society excavated the place and came across the foundations of the monastery. It is located to the east of the peak of Bukit China ..
'Straits Chinese' or the Baba and Nyonya , are Chinese of noble descendants that have adopted much of the Malay culture into theirs. The fusion of culture resulted in distinctives styles of architecture, language, furniture, cuisine and clothing. The heritage museum is housed in two "Baba" ancesteral homes, characterised by classical European columns and brilliantly coloured decorative tiles. On display are intricately carved fittings finished in gold leaf and the lifestyle of the "Babas".The public can now review the heirloom unique to this heritage at a private museum run by the Babas and Nyonyas of Malacca. Located at No. 48 and 50 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock..
In Jalan Gajah Berang is a Hindu community whose ancestors came to Malacca during the 15th century. Before the coming of Islam, Indian traders had already settled in the little fishing villages that dotted Malacca's coastline and married local girls. The Chittys as members of the community became known, now speak exlusively Malay and English. They live in neat litle wooden houses, dress in Malay clothes and eat food prepared in the Malay style..
The Museum is constructed after the 'Flora De La Mar', the Portuguese ship that sank off the Coast of Malacca on its way to Portugal. With its hull laden with invaluable treasures seized from Malacca, the ship was doomed from existence had it not for the efforts to Malacca's heritage.
At the museum, visitor can get a closer look at Malacca from the famed Malay Sultanate of the 14th century to the Portuguese era, the Dutch era and the British era. There are exhibits of foreign ships that had once called at the port of Malacca during the height of its maritime hegemony.
The oldest Chinese temple in the country. Cheng Hoon Teng translated as "The Abode of the Green Merciful Clouds". It was built in 1646 by Lee Wei King with materials shipped out of China. Fine workmanship is evident in the ornately decorated mythological figures, carvings, and lacquer work inside the temple.
Hang Kasturi studied 'silat' (Malay martial art) under the same tutelage as Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Lekir and Hang Lekiu. He became one of the 'hulubalangs' (knights) that served Malacca together with Hang Tuah. Except for Hang Jebat, Hang Kasturi and others remained loyal to the sultan to their dying day.
Al Azim Mosque is a state mosque located at Bukit Palah, 2 km from Malacca city.
Built in 1728 by Dato Shamsudin during the Dutch ocupancy. It replaced the city's first mosque, built by the Sultan which was situated in front of the present Stadhuys and was later destroyed by the Portuguese in 1511. Only after the Dutch period in the early 1700's that mosques were again allowded to be built. It was later renovated by Wazir Al Sheikh Omar bin Hussain Al-Attas and its unique architectural style is not traceable to others in the country. Today it is one of the oldest functioning mosque in Malaysia
Prominent in its architectural grandeur, the mosque is unique and bears testimony to the fact that Islam had its rightful place in Malacca almost 600 years ago. The tomb of Sultan Hussain of Johore is in the compound of the mosque. He was the ruler who signed the session of Singapore with Sir Stamford Raffles in 1819.